Special Education/Disability Resources

General Resources
Aspergers Syndrome http://www.wpi.edu/~trek/aspergers.html
Blindness Resource Center http://www.nyise.org/blind.htm
Canine Companions For Independence http://www.caninecompanions.org
Council on Education of the Deaf http://www.deafed.net/
DEAF INFO FAQ http://www.zak.co.il/deaf-info/old/home.html
Digital Journal of Ophthalmology http://www.djo.harvard.edu
Galludet University http://www.gallaudet.edu
Handspeak Sign Language Dictionary http://www.handspeak.com
History of Reading Codes for the Blind http://www.nyise.org/blind/barbier.htm
Internet Special Education Resources http://www.iser.com   
Links related to Blindness http://www.autopenhosting.org/w3c/rblind.html
National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped http://www.loc.gov/nls/
ParentPals Special Education Guide http://www.parentpals.com/index2.html
Sotos Syndrome Support Association http://www.well.com/user/sssa/
Susie's Cerebral Palsy Page http://www.susiecphome.com
Books, Catalogs & Products
Different Roads to Learning http://www.difflearn.com
Humanware http://www.humanware.com
PRO\_ED http://www.proedinc.com
Intellectual Differences Information
Down Syndrome Family Empowerment http://downsyndrome.com
Down Syndrome Resources http://www.nas.com/downsyn/
Upside! (Down's Syndrome Society) http://www.telebyte.com/upside/upside.html
ADD Plus http://www.add-plus.com
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Disorder (CH.A.D.D.) http://www.chadd.org
Dyslexia http://www.bda-dyslexia.org.uk/main/home/index.asp
LD Online http://www.ldonline.org
Misunderstood Minds http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/misunderstoodminds/
Positive Things about ADD http://add.miningco.com
What is Dyscalculia? http://www.fln.vcu.edu/ld/conf1.html#Dyscalculia
What is Dysgraphia?  www.fln.vcu.edu/ld/conf1.html#Dysgraphia
Associations & National Organizations 
American Council of the Blind http://www.acb.org 
American Counseling Association http://www.counseling.org
American Physical Therapy Association http://www.apta.org
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association http://www.asha.org/
Autism Society http://www.autism.org
Closing the Gap http://www.closingthegap.com
Council for Exceptional Children http://www.cec.sped.org
Easter Seal Society of Chicago http://www.eastersealschicago.org
Kids Together http://kidstogether.org
Multiple Sclerosis Society http://www.nmss.org/
Nat'l Assoc. for School Psychologists  http://www.nasponline.org/
Nat'l Center for Educational Statistics http://www.nces.ed.gov
Through the Looking Glass Links http://www.lookingglass.org/links/
Nat'l Center to Improve Practice in Special Education http://www.edc.org/FSC/NCIP 
Nat'l Council on Disability http://www.ncd.gov
Nat'l Federation of the Blind http://www.nfb.org
Nat'l Informational Center for Children and Youth With Disabilities http://www.nichcy.org
Nat'l Institutes of Health  http://www.nih.gov
Technology and Media Division of CEC http://www.tamcec.org
U.S. Department of Education http://www.ed.gov
Legal Information 
Abledata Database http://www.abledata.com
ADA Document Center http://www.jan.wvu.edu/links/adalinks.htm
Applied Science and Engineering Lab http://www.asel.udel.edu
Edlaw Special Education Legal Information http://www.edlaw.net
Legal Information on Disability Issues http://www.eskimo.com/~jlubin/disabled/legal.htm
Special Education Law Site http:// home.webmonster.net/sped.oh/
Students with Disabilities and the Law http://www.fln.vcu.edu/ld/law.html
Information for Special Educators
Federal Resource Center for Special Education http://www.dssc.org/frc/
Lesson Plans: About.com http://specialed.about.com/education/specialed/msublplans.htm
Modifying the Elementary Curriculum for Special Needs http://www.pacificnet.net/~mandel/SpecialEducation.html
National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System http://www.nectas.unc.edu/
Special Education Exchange http://www.spedex.com/
Teachers First http://www.teachersfirst.com
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities 
Center for Information Technology Accommodation http://www.itpolicy.gsa.gov/cita/index.htm
LAB Resources Home Page for Assistive Technology http://www.execpc.com/~labres/
WebAIM http://www.webaim.org/
Websites for AT Devices and Software   
Ablenet, Inc. http://www.ablenetinc.com
Academic Communication Assoc.  http://acadcom.com
Assistive Technology, Inc. http://assistivetech.com
Attainment Co. http:// attainment-inc.com
Closing the Gap  http://closingthegap.com
Crestwood Co. http:// communicationaids.com
Don Johnston Co. http://donjohnston.com
Edumatch http://edumatch.com
Enabling Devices: Toys for Special Children http://enablingdevices.com
Gus Communications http://gusinc.com
HELP Read http://helpread.net
Infogrip http://infogrip.com
Innocomp, Inc http://sayitall.com
Intellitools, Inc http://intellitools.com
Laureate Learning http://www.laureatelearning.com/professionals602/index.html
LinguiSystems, Inc http://linguisystems.com
Magination Press http://maginationpress.com
Mayer Johnson Co. http://mayer-johnson.com
RJ Cooper & Assoc. http://rjcooper.com
Simtech Publications http://hsj.com
Scholastic, Inc. http://scholastic.com
Text-Assist http://www.textassist.com
Tom Snyder, Inc. http://teachtsp.com
Words+ http://words-plus.com
1115 Commercial Street NE • Salem, Oregon 97301 • 503.399.3205 • Office hours: 7:15 a.m. - 3:45 p.m.
Darren Hunter, SK Online Lead Teacher• Jason Weeks, Roberts HS Principal